My Position on Specific Issues, no. 1: English Bible Translations

June 9, 2017

bibleSince receiving my undergraduate degree from a school that took a specific position on English Bible translations, most have often wondered if I hold to the same position as that of my undergraduate alma mater. My graduate degree was received through a seminary that has a different position on the subject. My current professional studies are with the same seminary of which I received my graduate degree. As a result, an air of doubt has accrued to me by those on both sides of the issue. Therefore, some clarification is in order as to my personal position regarding English Bible translations and their underlying Hebrew and Greek texts. Therefore, my personal beliefs regarding English Bible translations are delineated in the following statements:

  1. I believe that the Authorized Version (AV) translation of the Bible, more commonly known as the King James Version (KJV) is God’s Divinely Preserved, Inspired, Inerrant, Infallible, Bible translation for the English-Speaking world [italics mine]. All other current English Bible translations are derived from questionable sources and translation techniques, thus making them mere facsimiles or approximations of the Original Scriptures and therefore do not maintain the Inspired, Inerrant, Infallible integrity of the Original Autographs of the Holy Scriptures.
  2. I believe the Textus Receptus (TR) of the Greek New Testament, from which the New Testament of the KJV is derived, is God’s Divinely Preserved, Inspired, Inerrant, Infallible, Greek New Testament and should be the only Greek New Testament used for formal equivalent translation into the other languages of the world.
  3. I believe the Masoretic Text (MT) of the Hebrew Scriptures, more commonly known as The Old Testament, is God’s Divinely Preserved, Inspired, Inerrant, Infallible, Hebrew text from which the Old Testament of the KJV is derived. As such, it should be the only Hebrew text for formal equivalent translation into the other languages of the world.
  4. I do not believe the KJV should “correct the Greek” as it pertains to the Textus Receptus, but can be used for discerning errors in translation in other English translations of the Bible.
  5. I do not believe that God “gave by inspiration” the KJV. The Holy Spirit superintended the translating process that produced the KJV in such a manner that the inspired, inerrant, infallible integrity of the Original Autographs was maintained. Thus, all other English Bible translations do not retain the inspired, inerrant, infallible integrity of the Original Autographs of the Scriptures.
  6. I believe that when I hold the KJV in my hand, I am literally holding the equivalent to the Original Autographs of the Scriptures as though, for example, the Apostle Paul or Peter had just handed me the autographs of their epistles moments after they finished writing them.
  7. The KJV is the very Word of God in English. Other English translations contain a modicum of the Word of God with an admixture of men’s thoughts or perceptions about what they think God originally communicated through His human authors.
Author: fideetveritateblog

I am vision-oriented, committed minister of Christ currently living in Lynchburg, Virginia. Christ has allowed me to serve Him in various capacities in local church ministry both in the United States and Germany. Ordained and Licensed to the ministry in 1999 by the Hunter Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Florida. My education: Master of Divinity (M.Div.), Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary; Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Trinity Baptist College. I am also a retired Commissioned Officer from the United States Army with combat tours to Operation Desert Shield/Storm (1991) and three tours to Iraq. My interest in veterans issues encompass Life Memberships in the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), Disabled American Vets (DAV), and the 7th Infantry Regiment Association (Cottonbalers).

Leave a Reply

